Outside body

Essex Fire Authority


The Fire Authority was formed on April 1, 1998 by virtue of the Local Government Act 1992.  Essex Fire and Rescue Service is directly responsible to the Essex Fire Authority.


The 25 Members of the Authority are elected Members nominated by the three constituent Councils. Twenty members are nominated by Essex County Council, three by Southend Borough Council and two by Thurrock Borough Council.


At its Annual Meeting the Authority elects a Chairman and appoints a Vice-Chairman. The Chairman is Councillor Anthony Hedley and the Vice-Chairman is Councillor Ann Holland.


Meetings of the Authority and its committees are open to the press and public, although they can be excluded if confidential information is likely to be discussed.

Contact information

Essex Fire and Rescue Service Headquarters
Kelvedon Park
Rivenhall, Witham

Phone: 01376 576000

Website: http://www.essex-fire.gov.uk/Essex_Fire_Authority/

Thurrock Council is not responsible for the content of any external link

Our representatives